2021 Spring Poetry Books

Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X


Dēmos: An American Multitude Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781571315250
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 9th, 2021

From the intersection of Onondaga, Japanese, Cuban, and Appalachian cultures, Benjam n Naka-Hasebe Kingsley's newest collection arrives brimming with personal and political histories.


Doppelgangbanger Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781642592658
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Haymarket Books - February 9th, 2021

In his anticipated second poetry collection, Doppelgangbanger, Cortney Lamar Charleston examines the performance of Black masculinity in the U.S., and its relationship to family, love and community.


Double Trio: Tej Bet, So's Notice, Nerve Church: Limited Edition Box Set Cover Image
$65.00
ISBN: 9780811230629
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: New Directions - April 6th, 2021

Three new books in a spectacular limited edition box carry the tradition of the long poem far into the 21st century with a “low-lit, slow-drag ebullience”


Exiles of Eden Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895446
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Coffee House Press - May 7th, 2019

Exiles of Eden looks at the origin story of Adam, Eve, and their exile from the Garden of Eden, exploring displacement and alienation from its mythological origins to the present. In this formally experimental collection steeped in Somali narrative tradition, Osman gives voice to the experiences and traumas of displaced people over multiple generations.


The Glass Constellation: New and Collected Poems Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781556596216
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 13th, 2021

"This book is an overwhelming feast, a treasure, and more than enough proof that Sze is a major poet." --NPR


The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country Cover Image
By Amanda Gorman, Oprah Winfrey (Foreword by)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780593465271
Availability: Available to Ship - Usually ships in 2 - 5 days.
Published: Viking Books - March 30th, 2021

Amanda Gorman’s powerful and historic poem “The Hill We Climb,” read at President Joe Biden’s inauguration, is now available as a collectible gift edition.

“Stunning.” —CNN 
“Dynamic.” —NPR
“Deeply rousing and uplifting.” —Vogue


Staff Pick Badge
I Am the Rage: A Black Poetry Collection Cover Image
By Martina McGowan, Diana Ejaita (Illustrator)
$13.49
ISBN: 9781728245072
Availability: Available to Ship - Usually ships in 2 - 5 days.
Published: Sourcebooks - February 2nd, 2021

"I am The Rage is a timely look at generations of trauma and inaction." -- Bustle


If This Is the Age We End Discovery Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948579155
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Alice James Books - March 9th, 2021

A fascinating blend of poetry and science, Ben-Oni's poems are precisely crafted, like a surgeon sewing a complicated stitch. The speaker of the collection falls ill, and takes comfort in exploring the idea of "Efes" which is "zero" in Modern Hebrew, using that nullification to be a means of transformation.


The Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: Available to Ship - Usually ships in 2 - 5 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

From the prolific author of The Moon Within comes the heart-wrenchingly beautiful story in verse of a young Latinx girl who learns to hold on to hope and love even in the darkest of places: a family detention center for migrants and refugees.

Nine-year-old Betita knows she is a crane.


Love After the End: An Anthology of Two-Spirit and Indigiqueer Speculative Fiction Cover Image
By Joshua Whitehead (Editor)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781551528113
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 20th, 2020

This exciting and groundbreaking fiction anthology showcases a number of new and emerging 2SQ (Two-Spirit and queer Indigenous) writers from across Turtle Island. These visionary authors show how queer Indigenous communities can bloom and thrive through utopian narratives that detail the vivacity and strength of 2SQness throughout its plight in the maw of settler colonialism's histories.


Master Suffering: Poems Cover Image
$26.53
ISBN: 9781946482389
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Tupelo Press - January 1st, 2021

"CM Burroughs's Master Suffering is transcendent... a book-length conjuring to counter grief's entropy. It is a pulsing utterance providing solace in the dark."

--Simone Muench


No Knowledge Is Complete Until It Passes Through My Body Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643620350
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Nightboat Books - February 9th, 2021

Through a series of transmissions and proposals, the poems in No Knowledge Is Complete Until It Passes Through My Body explore the intelligence of the body, especially bodies under duress. Wadud evokes the hum and chorus that fills us when we write to explore methods and modes of circulation, continuum, and claustrophobia.


Popular Longing Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556595882
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Copper Canyon Press - February 16th, 2021

The poems of Natalie Shapero's third collection, Popular Longing, highlight the ever-increasing absurdity of our contemporary life. With her sharp, sardonic wit, Shapero deftly captures human meekness in all its forms: our senseless wars, our inflated egos, our constant deference to presumed higher powers--be they romantic partners, employers, institutions, or gods.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Renunciations: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450536
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now - Please check release date
Published: Graywolf Press - May 4th, 2021

An extraordinary collection of endurance and transformation by the award-winning author of Bestiary


The Rinehart Frames (African Poetry Book ) Cover Image
By Cheswayo Mphanza, Kwame Dawes (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781496225764
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: University of Nebraska Press - March 1st, 2021

The poems in The Rinehart Frames seek to exhaust the labyrinths of ekphrasis.


Sho Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781950268153
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Wave Books - April 6th, 2021

Eschewing series and performative typography, Douglas Kearney's Sho aims to hit crooked licks with straight-seeming sticks. Navigating the complex penetrability of language, these poems are sonic in their espousal of Black vernacular traditions, while examining histories, pop culture, myth, and folklore.


The Sunflower Cast a Spell to Save Us from the Void Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643620367
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Nightboat Books - February 2nd, 2021

The poems in The Sunflower Cast A Spell To Save Us From The Void read like dispatches from the dream world, with Jackie Wang acting as our trusted comrade reporting across time and space. By sharing her personal index of dreams with its scenes of solidarity and resilience, interpersonal conflict and outlaw jouissance, Wang embodies historical trauma and communal memory.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Train Music: Writing / Pictures Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781632430885
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now - Please check release date
Published: Omnidawn - November 1st, 2021

Late in the fall of 2017, poet C. S. Giscombe and book artist Judith Margolis boarded an Amtrak train in New York City and, four days later, stepped off another train at the edge of San Francisco Bay.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Vault Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948579186
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now - Please check release date
Published: Alice James Books - June 15th, 2021

The Vault is a quiet and vulnerable sequence of ethereal fragments, letters, and poems that trace a narrative of love and healing in the afterlife of a parent (TM)s death. Seasons turn and a life is built despite the ruin. Each poem is a music box of prayer, of the decisions made and yet to be made.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Water I Won't Touch Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556596179
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now - Please check release date
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 20th, 2021

Both radically tender and desperate for change, Water I Won't Touch is a life raft and a self-portrait, concerned with the vitality of trans people living in a dangerous and inhospitable landscape.


Waterbaby Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556596131
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 6th, 2021

In her astounding third collection, Nikki Wallschlaeger turns to water--the natural element of grief--to trace history's interconnected movements through family, memory, and day-to-day survival.


What the Chickadee Knows (Great Lakes Books) Cover Image
$20.39
ISBN: 9780814347508
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Wayne State University Press - September 15th, 2020

Margaret Noodin explains in the preface of her new poetry collection, What the Chickadee Knows (Gijigijigaaneshiinh Gikendaan), "Whether we hear giji-giji-gaane-shii-shii or chick-a-dee-dee-dee depends on how we have been taught to listen. Our world is shaped by the sounds around us and the filter we use to turn thoughts into words.


Written After a Massacre in the Year 2018 Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781566895996
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 2- 5 days.
Published: Coffee House Press - March 2nd, 2021

In Written after a Massacre, Daniel Borzutzky rages against the military industrial complex that profits from violence, against the unfair policing of certain kinds of bodies, against xenophobia passing for immigration policy. He grieves for the children in cages and the martyrs of the Tree of Life synagogue shooting in Pittsburg.


 

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
 

Reading Group Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.