You Want To Pre-Order These

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) (Hardcover)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 15 10:40pm
(Fantasy)

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List


“When Zelie was a child, she saw her mother and all magic wiped from existence with a tyrant's single, sweeping order. Now she finds herself tasked with restoring that magic to the land of Orisha, with the aid of her brother and that same tyrant's daughter. As Zelie races against time, she reckons with her newfound abilities and the moral complexities they awaken her to. Adeyemi's debut features truly epic world-building without sacrificing the intimate character development that propels the narrative. Every action combines taut pacing with lucid internal monologue, lending each work of magic or physical blow a palpable emotional weight. Stunning, cinematic, and resonant.”
— Bill Grace, Buttonwood Books & Toys, Cohasset, MA

Description


With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

About the Author


Tomi Adeyemi is the #1 New York Times-bestselling Nigerian-American author of Children of Blood and Bone.

After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship to study West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching BTS music videos, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing on her website. She lives in San Diego, California.

Praise For…


“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” —New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." —Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir." —Booklist, Starred Review

"...A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." —School Library Journal, Starred Review

"This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." —VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." —Horn Book

“Meet Tomi Adeyemi—the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she’s that good).” —Entertainment Weekly

“Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society.” –The New York Times

“A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journey…populated with compelling and nuanced black characters.” –NPR

“A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down.”–USA Today

“Adeyemi’s writing is beautiful and immersive.” –Tor.com

“A miraculous achievement.” –The Guardian



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: Legacy of Orisha

November Picks

This Place: 150 Years Retold Cover Image
7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga Cover Image
Pemmican Wars (Girl Called Echo #1) Cover Image
Red River Resistance (Girl Called Echo #2) Cover Image
#notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women Cover Image
The Marrow Thieves Cover Image
How I Became a Ghost: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story Cover Image
A Big Dose of Lucky (Secrets (Orca Books)) Cover Image
Crazy Horse's Vision Cover Image
Muskrat Will Be Swimming Cover Image
Speaking Our Truth: A Journey of Reconciliation Cover Image
1493 for Young People: From Columbus's Voyage to Globalization (For Young People Series) Cover Image
21 Things You May Not Know about the Indian ACT: Helping Canadians Make Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples a Reality Cover Image
Sugar Falls: A Residential School Story Cover Image
Rez Sisters: A Play in Two Acts Cover Image
There There: A novel Cover Image
Robopocalypse: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World #1) Cover Image
A Matter of Conscience Cover Image
Tilly: A Story of Hope and Resilience Cover Image
A Short History of Indians in Canada: Stories Cover Image
Two Roads Cover Image
A Coyote Solstice Tale Cover Image
A is for Aboriginal Cover Image
People Shall Continue Cover Image
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga Cover Image
Bowwow Powwow Cover Image
The Girl and the Wolf Cover Image
Go Show the World: A Celebration of Indigenous Heroes Cover Image
When I Was Eight Cover Image
The First Strawberries Cover Image
Jingle Dancer Cover Image
My Heart Fills with Happiness Cover Image
We Sang You Home Cover Image
When We Were Alone Cover Image
You Hold Me Up Cover Image
Sweetest Kulu (English) Cover Image