The Midnight Children (Hardcover)

The Midnight Children By Dan Gemeinhart Cover Image

The Midnight Children (Hardcover)

$16.99


Out of Stock in store and warehouse. Subject to publisher availability

The #1 New York Times and Indie bestseller!

From Dan Gemeinhart, the acclaimed author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, comes an extraordinary story about a family of runaways who take up residence in a small town, and the outcast boy who finds his voice and his people
perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo.

"Dan Gemeinhart’s best yet and that’s saying something." —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home

In the dead of night, a truck arrives in Slaughterville, a small town curiously named after its windowless slaughterhouse. Seven mysterious kids with suitcases step out of the vehicle and into an abandoned home on a dead-end street, looking over their shoulders to make sure they aren't noticed.

But Ravani Foster covertly witnesses their arrival from his bedroom window. Timid and lonely, Ravani is eager to learn everything he can about his new neighbors: What secrets are they hiding? And most mysterious of all...where are the adults?

Yet amid this shadowy group of children, Ravani finds an unexpected friend in the warm and gutsy Virginia. But with this friendship comes secrets revealed—and danger. When Ravani learns of a threat to his new friends, he must fight to keep them safe, or lose the only person who has ever understood him.

Full of wonder, friendship, and mystery, The Midnight Children explores the meaning of "home," what makes a family, and what it takes to find the courage to believe in yourself.

* "A story of fierce friendship, bravery, loyalty, and finding—or making—a place to belong." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Equal parts Kate DiCamillo and Shirley Jackson, this book is unlike anything else I've ever read—you will love it." —Jonathan Auxier, New York Times-bestselling author of Night Gardener and Sweep: the Story of a Girl and her Monster

Dan Gemeinhart is a former elentary-school teacher-librarian and lifelong book nerd. He lives with his wife and three daughters in a small town in Washington State. He's the author of some other books, too: The Honest Truth, Some Kind of Courage, Scar Island, and Good Dog. If he ever meets you, he'd love to talk about books with you.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250196729
ISBN-10: 1250196728
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: August 30th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English

A #1 New York Times Bestseller

"Dan Gemeinhart offers a way of talking to middle grade readers about the world in which they are growing up: The stakes are mortal; we do need to look out for one another; everything is not OK. And yet Gemeinhart reminds us that “things don’t always have to be the way they’ve always been.” These children become the heroes of their story because the world is closing in on them. Our kids could learn a lot from this bunch. So could we." —The New York Times

* "A story of fierce friendship, bravery, loyalty, and finding—or making—a place to belong." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Gemeinhart’s moody, magnificent novel [is] a Stephen King–esque blend of the sentimental and sinister. A tale by turns sweet and terrifying of friendship, bravery, and finding oneself in caring for others—this is for readers who enjoy dark tales with a lot of heart." —School Library Journal, starred review

* "The children forge the story’s path as they powerfully change their community through courageous honesty and emotional vulnerability." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "A rare (yet well done) tale about second chances and being true to both self and friends." —Booklist, starred review

"Distinctive narration and heart-pounding suspense will carry this kids-outwit-grownups tale deep into your heart to the place where courage is born." —Rosanne Parry, bestselling author of A Wolf Called Wander

"The Midnight Children has a dash of the Boxcar children and a whole lot of honesty and heart . . . Told in a riveting voice, this is Dan Gemeinhart’s best yet and that’s saying something." —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home

"
A creepy, strange, and surprisingly sweet story of friendship and belonging. Equal parts Kate DiCamillo and Shirley Jackson, this book is unlike anything else I've ever read—you will love it." —Jonathan Auxier, New York Times-bestselling author of Night Gardener and Sweep: the Story of a Girl and her Monster

"The midnight children might sneak into town quietly, but there’s nothing quiet about this sparkling story. It felt like fireworks in my heart." —New York Times-bestselling author Natalie Lloyd

"A story to make a soul ache, a story to make a soul heal, a story to make a soul leap." —Dusti Bowling, award-winning author of The Canyon's Edge

"
A magical and darkly humorous journey into a world of mysterious children, timeless villains, and the undeniable power of friendship.” —Melanie Conklin, author of A Perfect Mistake and Every Missing Piece

"Gemeinhart offers a way of talking to middle grade readers about the world in which they are growing up: The stakes are mortal; we do need to look out for one another; everything is not OK. And yet Gemeinhart reminds us that 'things don’t always have to be the way they’ve always been.' These children become the heroes of their story because the world is closing in on them. Our kids could learn a lot from this bunch. So could we." —New York Times Book Review


Praise for The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

A 2020 ILA Teachers’ Choice
A 2019 Parents' Choice Award Gold Medal Winner
Winner of the 2019 CYBILS Award for Middle Grade Fiction
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A Bank Street Books' Best Books of the Year
A Bookriot "25 Of The Best Middle School Books For Today's Readers" Pick
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2019
A 2020 Lone Star Reading List Selection

"Sometimes a story comes along that just plain makes you want to hug the world. The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise is Dan Gemeinhart’s finest book yet—and that’s saying something. Your heart needs this joyful miracle of a book." —Katherine Applegate, acclaimed author of The One and Only Ivan and Wishtree

“Coyote’s bold, engaging voice pops off the page . . . Gemeinhart infuses the story with moments of lyrical writing and folksy wisdom served up with a dollop of girl power.” –The New York Times