You Want To Pre-Order These

The Girl with the Dragon Heart (Hardcover)

The Girl with the Dragon Heart Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A chocolate-filled, girl-powered fantasy with a witty heroine who learns what home truly means, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale.

"Will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana." --School Library Journal on The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that, just years after arriving in the kingdom as a penniless orphan, she has found her way to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city as a master promoter. Although Silke loves her work at the Chocolate Heart, she's certain it's not going to last, and what Silke wants more than anything is somewhere to call home--somewhere safe. But when your best friend is a dragon-turned-hot-tempered-girl, trouble is always right around the corner.

Then Silke gets the opportunity she's been waiting for: the Crown Princess personally asks her to spy on the Elfenwald royal family during their first visit to the kingdom. In return, Silke will have the home she's always wanted in the secure palace. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies . . . and her mission isn't as simple as she hoped. Soon, she discovers that her city is in danger--and that maybe it's more her home than she ever realized.

Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden?

About the Author


Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but now lives in Wales with her husband and two sons, surrounded by mountains, castles and coffee shops. She is the author of The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart, the tween fantasy trilogy, Kat, Incorrigible and the forthcoming historical fantasy adult title, Masks and Shadows.
www.stephanieburgis.com
@stephanieburgis

Praise For…


“Black-presenting Silke's an entirely believable character; supporting characters are equally well-drawn, and Burgis' world is a robustly diverse one. As with the first book, the fantasy hijinks are tempered with depth for a story that's sweet but not saccharine.” —Starred review, Kirkus Reviews

“Thirteen-year-old Silke is the heroine of her own story . . . The true star of this show is independent girlhood. Silke, Aventurine, and the princess Sophia's freedom comes through recognizing that they are powerful not where they fit in, but in the ways that they stand out.” —Starred review, Foreword Reviews

“A strong sequel to Burgis' first Dragon novel, this adventure features a more vulnerable, more flawed, literally more human heroine. . . . A well-knit story combining court intrigue and strange alliances with a heartening conclusion.” —Booklist

“Full of adventure . . . for fans of Tamora Pierce and Gail Carson Levine, or anyone looking for a book which features strong women who save the day.” —School Library Journal

“Chocolate and dragons, together at last! Like sipping hot cocoa on a cold day, reading this book was an absolute delight. And by the end I felt like a dragon sitting on a pile of gold, knowing I'd found a treasure. Readers of all ages will love this deliciously charming adventure and its feisty dragon-transformed-into-a-girl main character, Aventurine!” —Sheila Grau, author of the Dr. Critchlore's School for Minions series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

“In The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart, Aventurine is turned into a girl, but inside she remains ALL dragon, every fierce, lovable inch of her. This story is a delightfully delicious blend of magic spiced with adventure and a heart as sweet and warm as molten chocolate. I completely adored this book!” —Sarah Prineas, author of THE MAGIC THIEF and Winterling series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart is a perfect confection: rich, satisfying, and remarkably delicious.” —Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

“A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand.” —Starred review, Kirkus Reviews on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

“Aventurine's fiery spirit is immediately endearing, and a diverse cast of fully realized supporting characters fill out a fantasy world that readers will love to inhabit. Pair with chocolate for maximum enjoyment . . . will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana.” —School Library Journal on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

“Burgis creates a feisty protagonist with a temper that suits her dragon heritage. . . . Readers will be rooting for Adventurine throughout this well-paced, colorful narrative. An appealing chapter book for young fantasy fans.” —Booklist on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART



Product Details
ISBN: 9781681196978
ISBN-10: 1681196972
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: November 6th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English

November Picks

This Place: 150 Years Retold Cover Image
7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga Cover Image
Pemmican Wars (Girl Called Echo #1) Cover Image
Red River Resistance (Girl Called Echo #2) Cover Image
#notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women Cover Image
The Marrow Thieves Cover Image
How I Became a Ghost: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story Cover Image
A Big Dose of Lucky (Secrets (Orca Books)) Cover Image
Crazy Horse's Vision Cover Image
Muskrat Will Be Swimming Cover Image
Speaking Our Truth: A Journey of Reconciliation Cover Image
1493 for Young People: From Columbus's Voyage to Globalization (For Young People Series) Cover Image
21 Things You May Not Know about the Indian ACT: Helping Canadians Make Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples a Reality Cover Image
Sugar Falls: A Residential School Story Cover Image
Rez Sisters: A Play in Two Acts Cover Image
There There: A novel Cover Image
Robopocalypse: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World #1) Cover Image
A Matter of Conscience Cover Image
Tilly: A Story of Hope and Resilience Cover Image
A Short History of Indians in Canada: Stories Cover Image
Two Roads Cover Image
A Coyote Solstice Tale Cover Image
A is for Aboriginal Cover Image
People Shall Continue Cover Image
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga Cover Image
Bowwow Powwow Cover Image
The Girl and the Wolf Cover Image
Go Show the World: A Celebration of Indigenous Heroes Cover Image
When I Was Eight Cover Image
The First Strawberries Cover Image
Jingle Dancer Cover Image
My Heart Fills with Happiness Cover Image
We Sang You Home Cover Image
When We Were Alone Cover Image
You Hold Me Up Cover Image
Sweetest Kulu (English) Cover Image