Scholastic Virtual Event: Writing History

 

Hey, we are partnering with Scholastic for the May 2021 I Read YA virtual event! Yes! So excited!  May's topic is WRITING HISTORY and will feature Cambria Gordan, Sharon Cameron, and Neal Bascomb.  The panel will be moderated by librarian extraordinaire, Deimosa Webber-Bey!

 

Tune in to Scholastic's I Read YA Youtube Channel on May 10th at 7pm - here!

 

Order any of the books from Brain Lair Books and you will receive a signed bookplate! Just tell us you want one right in the order comments when you place your order! 

 

About the Authors

Cambria Gordon is the co-author of the The Down-to-Earth Guide to Global Warming (Scholastic, 2007), winner of The Green Earth Book Award, a CCBC Choices selection, and translated into 11 languages. She has spoken to adults and children all over the country about climate change and how they can reduce their carbon footprint. A former award-winning advertising copywriter, Cambria woke up one morning and realized she no longer cared about dual overhead camshafts and mileage specs. When she thought about her favorite place in the world, it was in the children's section of a bookstore. She quit her day job and began writing for young people. https://www.cambrialgordon.com/

Sharon Cameron is the #1 NYT best-selling author of The Dark Unwinding (2012), A Spark Unseen (2013), Rook (2015), The Forgetting (2016), and The Knowing (2017), all from Scholastic Press. Her books have won the Parents’ Choice Gold Award, the Westchester Fiction Award, earned starred reviews from Booklist, SLJ, and Kirkus, and have been chosen for numerous lists, including Indie Next Top Ten, YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults, Audible Best Books, and numerous state award nominations. Her newest book is The Light in Hidden Places, coming in 2020. When not writing, Sharon can be found shooting her longbow, thumbing dusty tomes, pondering the past, or continuing her lifelong search for secret passages. She lives with her family in Nashville, TN. sharoncameronbooks.com

Neal Bascomb is a national award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of a number of books, all non-fiction narratives, all focused on inspiring stories of adventure or achievement. His work has been translated into over 15 languages, featured in several documentaries, and optioned for major film and television projects. Born in Colorado and raised in St. Louis, he is the product of public school and lots of time playing hockey. He earned a double degree in Economics and English Literature at Miami University (Ohio), lived in Europe for several years as a journalist (London, Dublin, and Paris), and worked as an editor at St. Martin’s Press (New York). In 2000, he started writing books full time. An avid hiker, skier, and coffee drinker, he is happily settled in Philadelphia with his family. If you’re interested in how Neal researches and writes his book, here’s an essay that provides a window into the madness on LitHub. Enjoy.  https://nealbascomb.com/

 

A BLB Virtual Production

Event date: 

Monday, May 10, 2021 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

South Bend, IN 46617
The Poetry of Secrets Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338634181
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 2nd, 2021

Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein, this lyrical portrait of hidden identities and forbidden love is set against the harrowing backdrop of the Spanish Inquisition.

Isabel Perez carries secrets with her every day.

As a young woman in 1481, Trujillo, Spain, she should be overjoyed that the alguacil of the city wants to marry her, especially sin


The Racers: How an Outcast Driver, an American Heiress, and a Legendary Car Challenged Hitler's Best (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$16.14
ISBN: 9781338277418
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Scholastic Focus - October 6th, 2020

The heart-pounding story of an unlikely band of ragtags who took on Hitler's Grand Prix driver.

In the years before World War II, Adolf Hitler wanted to prove the greatness of the Third Reich in everything from track and field to motorsports.


The Light in Hidden Places Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338355932
Availability: Available to Ship from Warehouse - Ships in 3 - 6 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - March 3rd, 2020

The extraordinary story of Stefania Podgórska, a Polish teenager who chose bravery and humanity by hiding thirteen Jews in her attic during WWII, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sharon Cameron - now a Reese's Book Club YA Pick!

One knock at the door, and Stefania has a choice to make...

It is 1943, and for four years, sixteen-year-old Stefania has b


Pre-Order Now Badge
Bluebird Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338355963
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for PRE-ORDER - Please check release date
Published: Scholastic Press - October 5th, 2021

Author of Reese's Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea.

In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from the fiery aftermath of one war into another, far colder one, where power is m