NerdCamp 6.0

Every year I travel up to Parma, MI for NerdCampMI along with thousands of educators, authors, illustrators, ed tech-ers, and anyone interested in celebrating books.  We are there for 2 days of education and fun. Here are links to the latest work of a smattering of the book creators who'll be at NerdCamp in 2018. Enjoy! 

Merci Suárez Changes Gears Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690496
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 11th, 2018

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.


The Memory of Forgotten Things Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481478656
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - May 15th, 2018

In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother.


Lowriders to the Center of the Earth Cover Image
By Cathy Camper, Raul the Third (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781452138367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - July 5th, 2016

2017 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner


President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316505284
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

Go-getter Brianna Justice is back and on assignment with her local newspaper in this third book in the popular President series


On Point (Zayd Saleem #2) Cover Image
By Hena Khan, Sally Wern Comport (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781534412019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - May 29th, 2018

From the critically acclaimed author of Amina's Voice comes the second book in an exciting new middle grade series about a scrawny fourth-grader with big dreams of basketball stardom.

Now that Zayd has made the Gold Team, he's hustling hard and loving every minute of the season.


Ahimsa Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781620143568
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tu Books - October 1st, 2017

In 1942, when Mahatma Gandhi asks Indians to give one family member to the freedom movement, ten-year-old Anjali is devastated to think of her father risking his life for the freedom struggle.


The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544876392
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 3rd, 2017

One of The New York Times' Notable Children's Books of 2017: "In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win it back with an all-out charm offensive."


Mixed: A Colorful Story Cover Image
By Arree Chung, Arree Chung (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250142733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - July 3rd, 2018

In the beginning, there were three colors . . .

Reds,

Yellows,

and Blues.

All special in their own ways, all living in harmony--until one day, a Red says "Reds are the best " and starts a color kerfuffle. When the colors decide to separate, is there anyting that can change their minds?


Drawn Together Cover Image
By Minh Le, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484767603
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 5th, 2018

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens-with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words.


I'm Sad (I'm Books) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481476270
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

A girl, a potato, and a very sad flamingo star in this charming sequel to I'm Bored by New York Times bestselling author and comedian Michael Ian Black and celebrated illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi.

Everyone feels sad sometimes--even flamingos.

Sigh.


Flor and Miranda Steal the Show Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316306898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 12th, 2018

Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle grade novel about family and friendship.
Miranda is the lead singer in her family's musical band, Miranda y Los Reyes. Her family has worked hard performing at festivals and quincea eras. Now, they have a shot at the main stage. How will Miranda make it a performance to remember?


Being the Change: Lessons and Strategies to Teach Social Comprehension Cover Image
$32.35
ISBN: 9780325099705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Heinemann Educational Books - March 29th, 2018

Topics such as race, gender, politics, religion, and sexuality are part of our students' lives, yet when these subjects are brought up at school teachers often struggle with how to respond.


Imagine Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690526
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 2nd, 2018

A buoyant, breathtaking poem from Juan Felipe Herrera -- brilliantly illustrated by Caldecott Honoree Lauren Castillo -- speaks to every dreaming heart.


How to Code a Sandcastle Cover Image
By Josh Funk, Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780425291986
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

From the computer science nonprofit Girls Who Code comes this lively and funny story introducing kids to computer coding concepts.


Smart Cookie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338143560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - January 30th, 2018

Sometimes you need to keep a few secrets.


Sticks & Stones Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250115263
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - July 3rd, 2017

Sticks & Stones by Abby Cooper is a feel-good middle grade debut with just a dash of magic...


This House, Once Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481442848
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2017

"Tender, comforting, and complex." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Drawn with exquisite precision and quiet dashes of humor." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A lovely, ruminative selection." --School Library Journal (starred review)


Sleep Train Cover Image
By Jonathan London, Lauren Eldridge (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451473035
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 3rd, 2018

A perfectly pitched bedtime story and counting book for sleepy train lovers, illustrated in dramatic 3D sculptures


Everything I Know about You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534405073
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - June 19th, 2018

Misfit Tally is forced to room with queen bee Ava on the seventh grade field trip to Washington, DC, and discovers several surprising things about her roommate--including the possibility of an eating disorder--in this timely new novel from the author of Star-Crossed and Halfway Normal.


EngiNerds (Max) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481468725
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - September 12th, 2017

The battle between boys and bots is on in this funny, fast-paced novel.

Ken is an EngiNerd: one of a super-smart group of friends--all nerds--who have been close since kindergarten.


Shark Lady: The True Story of How Eugenie Clark Became the Ocean's Most Fea: The True Story of How Eugenie Clark Became the Ocean's Most Fearless Scie Cover Image
By Jess Keating, Jordan Killam (Narrated by), Marta Alvarez Miguens (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781520082776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dreamscape Media - October 17th, 2017

At nine years old, Eugenie Clark developed an unexpected passion for sharks after a visit to the Battery Park Aquarium in New York City. At the time, sharks were seen as mindless killing machines, but Eugenie knew better and set out to prove it. Despite many obstacles in her path, Eugenie was able to study the creatures she loved so much.


Time Castaways #1: The Mona Lisa Key Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062568137
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 18th, 2018

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump comes a thrilling new middle grade trilogy about three city kids who get on the wrong subway train and wind up on a wild, magical mystery-adventure throughout time. Imaginative, daring, and packed with fun, Time Castaways is perfect for fans of Escape from Mr.


Hey, Kiddo Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780545902489
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - October 9th, 2018

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where to find him, or even what his name is.


Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781484768143
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - April 3rd, 2018

Beatrice does her best thinking upside down.


Dog Man: Lord of the Fleas: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #5) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780545935173
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - August 28th, 2018

When a new bunch of baddies bust up the town, Dog Man is called into action -- and this time he isn't alone. With a cute kitten and a remarkable robot by his side, our heroes must save the day by joining forces with an unlikely ally: Petey, the World's Most Evil Cat. But can the villainous Petey avoid vengeance and venture into virtue?